Randomness and Interviews

Last year, I sent my book, Prudence, on a blog tour. Along the way, I was interviewed by various bloggers. Here’s one of the interviews.

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
I’ve considered some places in central America.
How do you write – lap top, pen, paper, in bed, at a desk?
A combination of laptop and pen & paper.
Is there anyone you’d like to acknowledge and thank for their support?
My cousin and bestselling author Lena Hampton. She’s been an unbelievable support and encouragement in this endeavor.
Every writer has their own idea of what a successful career in writing is, what does success in writing look like to you? 
Something I can do full-time. I’m counting the days!
Tell us about your new book? What’s it about and why did you write it?
Prudence is about a woman who’s facing some of life’s challenges without her best friend who passed away a year earlier.  When she learns of a family secret and the lies that have been told to maintain the secret, she’s also challenged with deciding between her dead-end relationship with her boyfriend who won’t commit and a friend who professed his lifelong love for her.
I wrote this story just after two of my closest friends suddenly passed away. Both were young and in their prime.  When they each died: One was in medical school achieving her dream of becoming a doctor and the other had just gotten married and was planning her first year anniversary. It affected me on such a deep level that I wound up writing the beginnings of a novel based upon this loss.
When you are not writing, how do you like to relax?
Wine (or coffee depending on time of day), Facebook, Candy Crush, Words with Friends, My kid and movies… all things I enjoy that help me to relax.
What’s your favorite meal?
Breakfast. I can eat Breakfast any time of day.
What movie do you love to watch?
The Heist with Gene Hackman and Danny Devito. I love most heist movies: The Italian Job, The Town, Oceans Eleven, The Score. I also love Absolute Power, although it’s not a heist, it has all the exciting elements of one.
How do you feel about social media websites such as Facebook and Twitter? Are they a good thing?
I love social media and can be found on Facebook throughout the day. I think this growing medium is good for writers. It brings writers and readers together in a more personal way. It makes each (both writers and readers) more accessible to each other.
If you could do any job in the world what would you do?
Write screenplays
What are you most passionate about? What gets you fired up?
Leveling the playing field. We’re each born into this world with varying advantages, some much more than others. Those with less have to do more to level the playing field, those with more have to give more to level the playing field. I like reading stories that level the playing field by any means necessary.

Talk to me. I'd Love to hear what you think

